Brickle Drop cookies- the best cookies I’ve ever made…but I bet they’d be better with a kitchen aid mixer

A few weeks ago my husband was craving Wendy’s on our drive to Wilmington Beach. Never mind that I packed us a healthy picnic. I was feeling indulgent so I tried their toffee coffee treat. I’m not sure that I have ever had toffee before. It was so delicious! Ice cream has never been in my diet. I like frozen yogurt but just don’t care for ice cream. I know, crazy. But this stuff was awesome.
 
I searched my favorite online site and went through my cookbooks at home looking for recipes with toffee. Surprisingly, this one is adapted from the back of the brickle ‘o bits toffee bag.
I have been experimenting with this recipe and have decided that it is best adding chocolate chips and breaking up my own toffee bars so that the toffee bits are larger.
 
Some day I hope to have fancy cookware: a kitchen aid mixer or Le Creuset bakeware, for example. Today, I have my eye on these cute aprons from Anthropologie ($28).  My wants have changed some, having embraced the role of housewife.
I was not thrilled when I was given a vacuum cleaner for mothers day two years ago. But if my husband wanted to buy me a kitchen aide mixer this year for Mother’s Day, I might just jump up and down. If you see him, drop him a hint.
 
 
THE RECIPE:
1 cup (2 sticks) of butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp salt
2-3 eggs
3 1/2 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 1/3 cups (8 oz) toffee bits (Heath bar works well)
 
1. Heat oven to 350. Lightly grease cookie sheet
2. Beat butter, sugars, vanilla, and salt in large bowl until blended
Add eggs; beat well.
3. Sir together flour, baking soda, and cream of tartar. Gradually add to butter mixture, beating until blended.
Stir in toffee bits.
3. Drop by heaping teaspoons onto prepared cookie sheet. Bake 8-10 minutes. Cool slightly, remove to wire racks. Cool completely.
 
Makes about 6 dozen. I make large cookies and this recipe made over 3 dozen.
 
 
This entry was posted in Becoming a domestic goddess, my life as an Army wife, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

